The pension committee

Pensions Board

The Pensions Board was set up from 1 April 2016 (in accordance with the Public Services Pensions Act 2013) to assist the Pensions Committee in complying with scheme governance and administration and complying with the requirements of the Pensions Regulator.  Joint meetings are held alongside the Pensions Committee and membership of the Board is as follows:

Ms C Caddick, The Highland Council

Ms M Paterson, The Highland Council

Mr R Fea, Cromarty Port Authority, Representative for Other Employers

Mr C Nicolson, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

Ms L MacKay, Scheme Members Representative

Mr D MacSween, Scheme Members Representative

Mr E Macniven, Scheme Members Representative (GMB)

Mr D Main, Scheme Members Representative (UNITE/UCATT)

Pensions Committee

The Highland Council has a Pensions Committee which exercises, on behalf of the Council, all the powers and duties of the Council in relation to its functions as Administering Authority of the Highland Council Pension Fund, except where they have been specifically delegated by the Council to another Committee or to an officer. The Pension Committee has 11 Highland Council Elected Members.  All committee papers and minutes are publicly available on the Council's website and meetings are webcast. The Committee meets at least three times per annum and additional meetings are called as appropriate.

Mr R Gale (Lib Dem) Chair

Mr R Bremner (SNP)

Mrs H Carmichael (Ind)

Mr J Gray (Lab)

Mr C Fraser (SNP)

Mr A Jarvie (Con)

Mr B Lobban (Ind)

Mr D Louden (SNP)

Mr A Mackinnon (Ind)

Mr P Saggers (Cons)

Mr B Thompson (Ind)

Investment Sub Committee

In addition the Council has established an Investment Sub-Committee comprised of 7 Elected Members from the Highland Council who have voting rights and 2 "non-voting" members representing other employers and employees.  The Investment Sub-Committee meets quarterly and it's remit is to enhance the Council's management and investment of assets of the Pension Fund in accordance with the respective objectives and strategies of the Fund. It achieves this by securing detailed discussion with, and appraisal of information from the Council's Investment Managers and other specialists as necessary.

The Investment Sub-Committee meets at least quarterly and reports to the Pensions Committee on the management and investment of the Pension Fund.

Membership of the Investment Sub-Committee is currently as follows

Mr R Bremner (SNP) 

Mrs H Carmichael (Ind)

Mr R Gale (Lib Dem)

Mr B Lobban (Ind)

Mr D Louden (SNP)

Mr P Saggers (Cons)

Mr B Thompson (Ind) Chair

Non-Voting Members

Mr C Nicolson (Comhairle nan Eilean Siar)

Mr E Macniven, Scheme Members Representative (GMB)


Helpful information